National Research Service Award (NRSA)

Fiscal Year 2020 Application Due Date: November 09, 2020

Apply for this grant on

The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is accepting applications for the fiscal year 2020 National Research Service Award (NRSA) program. The application cycle opened on September 10, 2020 and closes on November 9, 2020.

This funding opportunity will allow eligible institutions to train and provide support to postdoctoral health care professionals who are planning to pursue careers in biomedical and behavioral health research related to primary care. Grantees will train researchers to study issues facing the primary care workforce across the nation.

Congress named the National Research Service Award program after Ruth L. Kirschstein, a longtime NIH researcher and leader who was a strong advocate for research training.

Eligible applicants are:

  • Programs that received funds between 2011 through 2020 under sections 747, 736, or 739 of the Public Health Service (PHS) Act.
  • Faith-based and community-based organizations if otherwise eligible.
  • Tribes and Tribal organizations if otherwise eligible.

HRSA expects approximately $7,800,000 to be available in FY 2020 to fund an estimated 15 awards.


For a complete list of funding opportunities, visit the HRSA website.